Adolescent Literature: Crank

Crank is a fascinating story about a young lady, a junior in high school, that allows her own curiosity to get the better of her.  During a summer break spent at her father’s home, with little adult supervision, she allows herself to explore life as an alter ego transforming her from the innocence Kristina to the carefree Bree.  During this exploration. she discovers Meth and becomes hooked on the monster.  In her time walking with the monster, as she calls it, she becomes sexually active while remaining a virgin until she is raped.  After being raped, she assumed a relationship with another boy who offered to be a father to her unborn child.  A child Bree longed to be rid of until Kristina swore she felt move inside of her.

 

This story is a great story that calls attention to the all too common problem of teen drug addiction, sex, and relationships in general.  While reading this book, I would often think about my own wayward students and how I hoped they would not be dancing with the monster like Bree.  Sadly, even in the seventh and eighth grade I know there are girls that struggle with the same issues as Kristina/Bree.

Ultimately, I doubt I could convince my administration to allow me to use this book for a required reading.  This book has been banned in several locations due to its subject matter, which to me says READ ME.  Most don’t agree though.  Small towns have a way of staying  small-minded at times which is why I was surprised to borrow this book from a fellow teacher.  It was one found deep in the corner of the school’s library where undoubtedly a parental consent form proceeds it from the shelf to the student’s hand.  It is very likely that in the years on that shelf it has only been gleamed by a few pairs of eyes.  That makes me sad.  I would love to talk to my students about these controversial issues and help them make good choices for their own life.  If only one student would get the slightest idea about how easy addiction to acquire and how devastating it can be, wouldn’t that be worth every parent call to complain about the subject.

I think Hopkins does a wonderful job of conveying why I feel teens should read this book.

One thought on “Adolescent Literature: Crank

  1. If teachers did use books like Crank as required reading, maybe students would actually read? I don’t know. But what an important book this is for teens. Book Love focuses on the importance of independent reading in secondary classrooms, and this would be a great book to book talk and share with your students. You might also consider reading aloud titles (or even parts of titles) that you think might lead to issues if they were required reading.

    Like

Leave a Reply

